To Drug, or not to drug?

Welcome to the last week of this blog (T-T  )

I am gonna miss all of ya ladies and gentlemen.
to be very honest, I probably would miss the ladies more.. xD
if any ladies want to meet up and have a romantic dinner after class, do not hesitate and leave a comment below 🙂

anyway..

I salute you if you are actually gonna read it.
If you really are, I highly encourage you to finish it all and most importantly, watch the video below.

This week I want to talk about drug.
You are probably wondering why I am talking about drug all of a sudden.

People take drug for many reasons: sickness, sport enhancement, muscle building, entertainment, etc.

There are the good drug, the bad drug, and all kind of drugs.

Particularly, I want to talk about the drug that is surrounding the dance culture. The impression of drug around the hip hop culture probably would give a negative impression to you. Mental imaginary of drug addicts and drug abuse could easily come to mind.

The entire hip hop culture is shrouded with this negativity which I disgustingly hate. We constantly see hip hop artists surrounded in a cloud of smoke is an example. Demeaningful lyrics like “f**k B**tches, get money” from artist like Lil Wayne does not help either. We need more positive lyrical artist such as KRS-1 to produce conscious rap to enlighten and educate our minds.

Drug can be just as enlightening as conscious rap if it is used in the right dosage and in a controlled setting. In my opinion, we determine a drug is bad largely due to the negativity that is associated with it. The problem with it is the impression we are taught that drugs are bad, but what about alcohol and coffee? Most people think they are not classified as drug. However, if you break it down, alcohol and coffee contain chemicals that could either slow down or heighten our perceptions. Is it not the same thing that what the so called bad drug does? I personally think when you use anything abusively, it will do you more harm than good. It is not the drug but the user is to blame.

Did you know coffee company Maxwell invented the culture of coffee break with behavioural psychologist J. B. Watson in the 70s just boost product sale? What is better to sell a product that is addicting and is cooperated into the society’s culture? This just an example that I want you to take a different perspective on looking at what we are so conformed to see everyday.

I was taught bad drug is bad growing up and I never question much about it. In fact, I was highly against it too. However, it was until I saw this video from Cosmologist Carl Sagan. He wrote an essay called Marijuana reconsidered. The following video is the said essay in audio form:

In the essay, Sagan mentioned he was able to understand things that he was not familiar with before such as contemporary arts and social issues during the use of cannabis. He described it can even enhance sexual experience. Therefore, my curiosity has led me to give this drug a try. Although I did not experience what Sagan did, I did feel a strange calmness when I was sitting on my bed examining the intricate pattern that I have never noticed before. Then I fell asleep pretty soon and I had a surprisingly good sleep that night.

During the calmness when I was under the influence of cannabis, I reflect upon Sagan’s essay and agree that “The illegality of cannabis is outrageous, an impediment to full utilization of a drug which helps produce the serenity and insight, sensitivity and fellowship so desperately needed in this increasingly mad and dangerous world.” During my introspection of examining the intricate relationships between everyone in relation to our society as a whole, I conclude that We are so caught up in our daily life that we are unable to step back and relax for a moment. Cannabis should be used is such occasion because of its surprisingly ability to provide the relaxation we rightfully deserve, the sensation of calmness and euphoria.

At the end, I will leave you with this famous quote from Carl Sagan,

If you wish to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first invent the universe.

(I bet Sagan thought of the connection between a apple pie and the universe while smoking up and staring at a apple pie in front of him.. xD)

Leave a comment